top of page

About the NCA

Through the NCA, the seven municipalities in Melbourne’s north work together to advocate for the future of our region.  

Who are we?

Our municipalities are:


  • Banyule City Council

  • City of Darebin

  • Hume City Council

  • Merri-bek City Council

  • Mitchell Shire Council

  • Nillumbik Shire Council 

  • City of Whittlesea  



Mayors and CEOs of our seven Councils are signatories to a Memorandum of Understanding that outlines the role of the NCA.


To inform and oversee our work, we hold two regular forums: the NCA Committee and the NCA CEO Group.

The NCA Committee:

·       comprises the Mayor and the CEO from each member       Council

·       advocates for agreed regional priorities

·       provides strategic direction and oversight of our work

·       supports and oversees issues of regional importance

·       meets quarterly.


The NCA CEO Group: 

·       comprises the CEO of each member Council

·       oversees and evaluates NCA activities

·       oversees delivery of agreed projects ​

·       meets monthly.

Both the NCA Committee and the NCA CEO Group are supported by the NCA Executive Officer. 

Banyule City Council is the current host of the NCA and the City of Whittlesea is the auspicing Council. 


The Current Chair of the NCA is Cr Tom Melican, Mayor of Banyule City Council.


Image by Dan Burton

(PDF - 4.8M)

NCA Strategic Plan
for 2022-2026 

Our members

bottom of page